PLANNING BOARD REORGANIZATION MINUTES - JANUARY 17, 2024

WORKSHOP PORTION

Molly Kellett (2023 Chair) called the meeting to order at 7:06 p.m.

ROLL CALL:

Members Present:

Mayors Andrews Michael Callahan

Ms. Didzbalis

Mr. Jandoli

Ms. Kellett

Mr. Nordelo

Ms. Pedde

Commissioner Prunty

Members Absent:

Ms. Sen

Alternates Present:

Mr. Leber Mr. Geier

Alternates Absent:

None

Also present:

Joseph Tauriello, Esq., (filling in for Jonathan Drill, Esq. 2023 Legal Counsel) via Zoom, Kathy Lenahan, Board Administrator, Nicholas Dickerson, Board Planner (2023) via Zoom, Kevin Boyer, Board Engineer (2023), via Zoom.

1. SWEARING IN OF NEW MEMBERS

Brian Andrews, Mayor and Class I Member for a one-year term ending December 31, 2024, was sworn in by Joseph Tauriello, Esq.

Kathleen Miller Prunty, Class III Member, for a one-year term ending December 31, 2024, was sworn in by. Joseph Tauriello, Esq.

Michael Callahan, Class II Member for a one-year term ending December 31, 2024, was sworn in by Joseph Tauriello, Esq.

Steven Jandoli, Class IV Member for a three-year term ending December 31, 2026, was sworn in by Joseph Tauriello, Esq.

Juan Carlos Nordelo, Class IV Member for a four-year term ending December 31, 2027, was sworn in by Joseph Tauriello, Esq.

Dennis Geier, Alternate No.2 Member for a two-year term ending December 31, 2025, was sworn in by Joseph Tauriello, Esq.

Planning Board Reorganization January 17, 2024 Page 2

2. ELECTION OF OFFICERS

A motion to nominate Molly Hurley Kellett as Chair, was made by Mr. Nordelo, seconded by Ms. Pedde, and passed on roll call vote.

Affirmative: Mayor Andrews, Mr. Callahan, Ms. Didzbalis, Mr. Jandoli, Ms. Kellett, Mr. Nordelo,

Ms. Pedde, Commissioner Prunty, Mr. Leber

Opposed: None

A motion to nominate Juan Carlos Nordelo as Vice-Chair, was made by Commissioner Prunty, seconded by Ms. Kellett and passed on roll call vote.

Affirmative: Mayor Andrews, Mr. Callahan, Ms. Didzbalis, Mr. Jandoli, Ms. Kellett, Mr. Nordelo,

Ms. Pedde, Commissioner Prunty, Mr. Leber

Opposed: None

The nomination of a Chair Pro Temp was tabled.

3. APPOINTMENT OF BOARD ATTORNEY

A motion to nominate Jonathan Drill, Esq., as Planning Board Attorney, for the year 2024, was made by Mr. Nordelo, seconded by Ms. Didzbalis and passed on roll call vote.

Affirmative: Mayor Andrews, Mr. Callahan, Ms. Didzbalis, Mr. Jandoli, Ms. Kellett, Mr. Nordelo,

Ms. Pedde, Commissioner Prunty, Mr. Leber

Opposed: None

4. APPOINTMENT OF ADMINISTRATOR

A motion to appoint Kathy Lenahan as Board Administrator, was made by Ms. Pedde, seconded by Mayor Andrews and passed on roll call vote.

Affirmative: Mayor Andrews, Mr. Callahan, Ms. Didzbalis, Mr. Jandoli, Ms. Kellett, Mr. Nordelo,

Ms. Pedde, Commissioner Prunty, Mr. Leber

Opposed: None

5. APPOINTMENT OF BOARD ENGINEER

A motion to nominate Colliers Engineering & Design, (Kevin Boyer), as Board Engineer for a one-year term ending December 31, 2024, was made by Mr. Nordelo, seconded by Mr. Leber and passed on roll call vote.

Affirmative: Mayor Andrews, Mr. Callahan, Ms. Didzbalis, Mr. Jandoli, Ms. Kellett, Mr. Nordelo,

Ms. Pedde, Commissioner Prunty, Mr. Leber

Opposed: None

6. APPOINTMENT OF PLANNING CONSULTANT

A motion to nominate Colliers Engineering & Design, (Nicholas Dickerson), as the primary Board Planner and Topology LLC, as secondary Board Planner, as needed, was made by Mr. Leber, seconded by Ms. Didzblis and passed on roll call vote.

Affirmative: Mayor Andrews, Mr. Callahan, Ms. Didzbalis, Mr. Jandoli, Ms. Kellett, Mr. Nordelo,

Ms. Pedde, Commissioner Prunty, Mr. Leber

Opposed: None

7. DESIGNATION OF OFFICIAL NEWSPAPER

A motion to designate The Westfield Leader and The Star Ledger as the Planning Board official newspapers, was made by Commissioner Prunty, seconded by Mr. Nordelo, and passed on roll call vote.

Affirmative: Mayor Andrews, Mr. Callahan, Ms. Didzbalis, Mr. Jandoli, Ms. Kellett, Mr. Nordelo,

Ms. Pedde, Commissioner Prunty, Mr. Leber

Opposed: None

8. ADOPTION OF RULES AND REGULATIONS

A motion to adopt the 2024 Planning Board Rules and Regulations, was made by Mr. Nordelo, seconded by Ms. Pedde and passed on roll call vote.

Affirmative: Mayor Andrews, Mr. Callahan, Ms. Didzbalis, Mr. Jandoli, Ms. Kellett, Mr. Nordelo,

Ms. Pedde, Commissioner Prunty, Mr. Leber

Opposed: None

Planning Board Reorganization January 17, 2024 Page 4

9. COMMUNICATIONS

None

10. RESOLUTIONS OF MEMORIALIZATION

None

11. MINUTES

A motion to adopt the official minutes of December 6, 2023, was made by Mr. Nordelo, seconded by Ms. Didzbalis and passed by roll call vote.

Affirmative: Ms. Didzbalis, Ms. Kellett, Mr. Nordelo, Ms. Pedde, Commissioner Prunty,

Mr. Leber

Opposed: None

A motion to adopt the closed session minutes of December 6, 2023, was made by Commissioner Prunty, seconded by Mr. Leber and passed by roll call vote.

Affirmative: Ms. Didzbalis, Ms. Kellett, Mr. Nordelo, Ms. Pedde, Commissioner Prunty,

Mr. Leber

Opposed: None

12. OLD/NEW BUSINESS

None

13. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business, a motion to adjourn the meeting was regularly made seconded and passed. The meeting concluded at 7:22 p.m.

Molly Hurley Kellett, Chair	