The Minutes of the **Special Workshop Meeting** of the Township Committee of the Township of Cranford, County of Union, State of New Jersey on **October 16, 2017** at 7:00 p.m. in Room 108.

THIS MEETING IS IN COMPLIANCE WITH THE "OPEN PUBLIC MEETINGS ACT' AS ADEQUATE NOTICE OF THIS MEETING HAS BEEN PROVIDED BY MAILING THE ANNUAL SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS TO THE WESTFIELD LEADER, THE UNION COUNTY LOCAL SOURCE, THE STAR LEDGER, AND TAP INTO CRANFORD, BY POSTING SUCH ANNUAL MEETING SCHEDULE ON A BULLETIN BOARD IN THE TOWN HALL RESERVED FOR SUCH ANNOUNCEMENTS AND THE FILING OF SAID NOTICE WITH THE TOWNSHIP CLERK OF CRANFORD. FORMAL ACTION MAY BE TAKEN AT THIS MEETING.

Present: Mayor Thomas H. Hannen, Jr.

Deputy Mayor Patrick F. Giblin Commissioner Ann Dooley Commissioner Andis Kalnins Commissioner Mary O'Connor

Absent: None

PUBLIC COMMENTS

Mayor Hannen opened the public comments portion of the meeting and asked if there were any questions or comments.

<u>Christine Larrabee</u>, 205 Edgar Avenue, Discussed the Hazard Mitigation Plan and the fact that it is coming to an end. She is working on closing out her TD Bank escrow accounts. Mentioned that Township Administrator Wall has been working with her and informed her that the interest that was earned during the four years belongs to the Township. Feels this represents a complete departure from what she was told. Stated that the Township Committee told her the interest would belong to her being she has paid taxes on it for the full four years. Would like for the Township to allow her to keep the money. Discussed adjustments that would be needed on her tax returns for the past four years.

Mayor Hannen to follow up with the appropriate department heads.

Hearing no further comments, Mayor Hannen closed the public comment portion of the meeting.

CLOSED SESSION

On motion of Deputy Mayor Giblin, seconded by Commissioner Kalnins and passed, the following resolution was adopted by roll call vote:

Resolution No. 2017--91.37:

BE IT RESOLVED that the Township Committee will go into closed session to interview candidates for the position of Chief of Police, the minutes of which will be released at some time in the future at the discretion of the Township Committee.

Recorded vote:

Aye: Mayor Hannen, Deputy Mayor Giblin, Commissioners Dooley, Kalnins and O'Connor

Nay: None Abstained: None Absent: None

Dated: October 16, 2017

On motion of Commissioner Kalnins seconded by Deputy Mayor Giblin and passed, the Township Committee returned to open session at 10:50 PM.

On motion of Commissioner Kalnins seconded by Deputy Mayor Giblin and passed, the Township Committee adjourned at 10:50 PM.

Respectfully submitted,

Heather Capone, RMC Deputy Municipal Clerk